Palliative Care Nursing by
"This 5th edition is an important achievement; it is a symbol of commitment to the field of palliative nursing, where we have been and where we are going." - Betty Rolling Ferrell, PhD, MA, FAAN, FPCN, CHPN From the Foreword The aging population has only grown since the first edition of this comprehensive and seminal publication nearly 20 years ago. Based on the need to humanize rather than medicalize the illness experience for patients, this text delves into palliative care beyond the specific diseases affecting the patient. Instead, content focuses on the whole person and family. Palliative patients struggle with chronic, debilitating, and painful conditions, and grapple with the fact that life as they knew it has already passed away. Families and friends reciprocally suffer, not knowing how to help and therefore become the secondary victims of the disease. This is not the challenge of a lone nurse, or a single physician, therapist, or social worker. Rather, palliative and hospice care requires the expertise and unique roles of an interprofessional team to help the patient and family strengthen their resilience, continue to find meaning and purpose in life, and cure what can be cured. Palliative Care Nursing, Fifth Edition, delivers advanced empirical, aesthetic, ethical and personal knowledge. This new edition brings an increased focus on outcomes, benchmarking progress, and goals of care. It expounds upon the importance of the cross-disciplinary collaboration introduced in the previous edition. Every chapter in Sections I, II, and III includes content written by a non-nursing member of the interprofessional team. Based on best-evidence and clinical practice guidelines, this text presents comprehensive, targeted interventions responsive to the needs of palliative and hospice patients and family. Each chapter contains compassionate, timely, appropriate, and cost-effective care for diverse populations across the illness trajectory. Key FeaturesThe expanded new edition offers current, comprehensive, one-stop source of highly-relevant clinical information on palliative careLife-span approach: age-appropriate nursing considerations (e.g. geriatric, pediatric and family)Includes disease-specific and symptom-specific nursing management chaptersPromotes a holistic and interdisciplinary approach to palliative careOffers important legal, ethical and cultural considerations related to death and dyingCase Studies with Case Study Conclusion in each clinical chapter New to The Fifth Edition: An expanded chapter on Palliative Care incorporates most up to date scope and standards, information on Basic and Advanced HPNA certification, self-reflection and self-care for nurses.A chapter on Interprofessional CollaborationInstructor Resources: Power points and Test bank
Palliative Care Nursing by
Palliative Care Nursing: Caring for Suffering Patients continues to explore the concept of suffering as it relates to nursing practice in an updated new edition. This text helps practicing nurses and students define and recognize various aspects of suffering across the lifespan and within various patient populations, while providing guidance in alleviating suffering. In addition, the authors discuss ways nurses that witness suffering can optimize their own coping skills and facilitate personal growth. The Second Edition aligns with the recently updated ELNEC and AACN competencies and features three new chapters discussing advance care planning, palliative care for those with serious illnesses, and strategies for having difficult conversations with patients and families.How do we identify a patient who is suffering? How do we assess whether our patient (and/or their family) is coping with the event? What can we do to alleviate patient suffering? How can we convey the extent of the suffering to the other members of the healthcare team and advocate excellent palliative care for our patients? Palliative Care Nursing: Caring for Suffering Patients, Second Edition answers these questions and more, making it an indispensable resource for nursing students and nurses employed in a variety of health care settings.
Evidence-Based Practice of Palliative Medicine E-Book by
Evidence-Based Practice of Palliative Medicine is the only book that uses a practical, question-and-answer approach to address evidence-based decision making in palliative medicine. Dr. Nathan E. Goldstein and Dr. R. Sean Morrison equip you to evaluate the available evidence alongside of current practice guidelines, so you can provide optimal care for patients and families who are dealing with serious illness. Consult this title on your favorite e-reader with intuitive search tools and adjustable font sizes. Elsevier eBooks provide instant portable access to your entire library, no matter what device you're using or where you're located. Confidently navigate clinical challenges with chapters that explore interventions, assessment techniques, treatment modalities, recommendations / guidelines, and available resources - all with a focus on patient and family-centered care. Build a context for best practices from high-quality evidence gathered by multiple leading authorities. Make informed decisions efficiently with treatment algorithms included throughout the book.
Integration of Palliative Care in Chronic Conditions by
Integration of Palliative Care in Chronic Conditions: An Interdisciplinary Approach will equip multidisciplinary teams with the resources necessary to provide patients and their families with the best possible care and management of multiple chronic conditions.
Written in an easily accessible outline format, this comprehensive text explores pharmacologic interventions; advance care planning; and the physiology, symptoms, diagnostics, and interventions of various chronic conditions and malignancies. In addition, case studies highlight approaches to the care of individual patients with varying backgrounds and needs.
Emphasizing the importance of self care, spiritual and religious support, compassion, goal setting, education, preparation, and communication in all areas of the palliative care realm, this book is an essential resource in guiding healthcare professionals in their mission of providing quality care to patients and their families.
Palliative Care Nursing at a Glance by
Palliative Care Nursing at a Glance is the perfect companion for nursing students, health and social care practitioners, and all those involved in palliative care delivery, both in the clinical and home setting. Written by an expert team of academics, nurses, educators and researchers it provides a concise and easy-to-read overview of all the concepts and clinical decision-making skills necessary for the provision of good-quality palliative and end-of-life care. Divided into six sections, the book includes coverage of all key clinical applications, principles of symptom management, palliative care approaches for a range of conditions and patient groups, exploration of the roles of the multi-professional team, as well as ethical challenges. Superbly illustrated, with full colour illustrations throughout Provides information on delivery of care in a range of settings Broad coverage makes it ideal reading for anyone involved in palliative care delivery User-friendly and accessible resource for those working in both specialist and non-specialist adult settings
Paediatric Palliative Medicine by
Looking after children with life-limiting conditions is very difficult for both parents and health care professionals. This second edition of Paediatric Palliative Medicine is full of easily-accessible, detailed information , and covers all aspects of the care of children with life-limitingillnesses. It is designed to equip clinicians with the knowledge, and its evidence base, to improve clinical care.Using the bestselling Oxford Specialist Handbook format to deliver practical and concise information, this handbook facilitates bedside delivery of effective palliative medicine to children. It includes a quick reference drug formulary and detailed information on medical conditions and symptomcontrol. There are also specific management plans to guide professionals, whether the child is in their own home, in a hospital, or a hospice.Many children with long term conditions have symptoms which need management, and the principles of palliative care for children need to be known by all who are involved in their care. The unique significance of this handbook is its capacity to guide professionals who have not trained or hadexperience of caring for the dying child, as well as for students and trainees interested in paediatric palliative care.Children's palliative medicine encompasses symptom control but is not limited to it. This handbook also provides a wealth of information on the philosophy and models that support delivery of palliative medicine to children, as well as the learning and coping skills required in palliative care.Fully updated with an expanded formulary and a new chapter on the intensive care unit, this new edition continues to be the authoritative reference tool in paediatric palliative care.
Oxford Textbook of Palliative Nursing by
This landmark text is the key resource for nurses working in the field of palliative care. Edited by renowned nursing experts, and written by a dynamic team of internationally known authorities in nursing and palliative medicine, the Oxford Textbook of Palliative Nursing covers the gamut of principles of care from the time of initial diagnosis of a terminal disease to the end of a patient's life and beyond. The text is distinctively developed to highlight the nurse's vital role as part of an integrated palliative care team. Various care settings are discussed including the hospital, ICU, home care, and hospice. Chapters focus on the practical aspects of nursing care, including symptom assessment, patient teaching, family support, psychosocial aspects of palliation, and spiritual care. New to the fourth edition are chapters on the National Consensus Project for Quality Palliative Care Guidelines, palliative care of veterans, palliative care in rural settings, disaster situations, palliative care in Eastern Europe, and palliative care in the Philippines.
