The content of this page was developed by an amazing medical librarian who has since retired and we miss her very much. If you feel we should add or amend the content please contact the library.
Compounding Sterile Preparations by E. Clyde Buchanan; Philip J. Schneider; Ryan A. Forrey; American Society of Health-System Pharmacists Staff (Contribution by)The essential sterile compounding reference every pharmacist needs has been fully updated and is the most comprehensive and authoritative reference available on sterile compounding available. It's a trusted resource that every pharmacist needs. This new fourth edition now includes: Coverage of new USP Chapter (800) on the compounding of hazardous drugs and the existing USP Chapter (797). Updates on regulations related to the Drug Quality and Security Act (DQSA). Seven new chapters and 16 new contributors. Appendices offering more extensive reference to online resources. Since the last edition published in 2009, much has changed in the world of compounding. Don't miss out on the latest updated information in this important field.
Publication Date: 2017-07-01
Trissel's Stability of Compounded Formulations by Lawrence A. Trissel; Lisa D. Ashworth; Jay Ashworth; American Pharmacists Association Staff (Contribution by)With the increasing use of compounded prescriptions, practitioners need to answer the question, ¿What is the stability of this preparation after it is compounded?¿ Trissel¿s¿ Stability of Compounded Formulations is the only book in print that compiles all currently available stability information on drugs in compounded oral, enteral, topical, ophthalmic, and other specialized preparations.Based on data published over the past 60 years, the reference summarizes specific formulations and stability studies. It helps readers (a) determine whether formulated compounds will be stable for the anticipated duration of use, (b) properly store and repackage compounded formulations and some commercial products, (c) formulate in accordance with documented standards, and (d) counsel patients on the use and storage of compounded medications.
Publication Date: 2017-12-01
Red Book 2018 by David W. Kimberlin (Editor); Sarah S. Long (Associate Editor); Michael T. Brady (Associate Editor); Mary Anne Jackson (Associate Editor)New in Red Book 2018: 3 new chapters added (Chikungunya, Coagulase-Negative Staphylococcal Infections, and Zika). Standardized approaches to disease prevention through immunizations, antimicrobial prophylaxis, and infection-control practices have been updated throughout Recommendations for the use of doxycycline have been liberalized. References to evidence-based policy recommendations have been recommended Appropriate chapters have been updated to be consistent with 2018 AAP and CDC vaccine recommendations, CDC recommendations for immunization of health care personnel, and drug recommendations from 2018 Nelson's Pediatric Antimicrobial Therapy.
Pain Assessment and Pharmacologic Management by Chris Pasero; Margo McCaffery; Betty Rolling FerrellPain Assessment and Pharmacologic Management, by highly renowned authors Chris Pasero and Margo McCaffery, is destined to become the definitive resource in pain management in adults. It provides numerous reproducible tables, boxes, and figures that can be used in clinical practice, and emphasizes the benefits of a multimodal analgesic approach throughout. In addition, Patient Medication Information forms for the most commonly used medications in each analgesic group can be copied and given to patients. This title is an excellent resource for nurses to become certified in pain management. Presents best practices and evidence-based guidelines for assessing and managing pain most effectively with the latest medications and drug regimens. Features detailed, step-by-step guidance on effective pain assessment to help nurses appropriately evaluate pain for each patient during routine assessments. Provides reproducible tables, boxes, and figures that can be used in clinical practice. Contains Patient Medication Information forms for the most commonly used medications in each analgesic group, to be copied and given to patients. Offers the authors' world-renowned expertise in five sections: Underlying Mechanisms of Pain and the Pathophysiology of Neuropathic Pain includes figures that clearly illustrate nociception and classification of pain by inferred pathology. Assessment includes tools to assess patients who can report their pain as well as those who are nonverbal, such as the cognitively impaired and critically ill patients. Several pain-rating scales are translated in over 20 languages. Nonnopioids includes indications for using acetaminophen or NSAIDs, and the prevention and treatment of adverse effects. Opioids includes guidelines for opioid drug selection and routes of administration, and the prevention and treatment of adverse effects. Adjuvant Analgesics presents different types of adjuvant analgesics for a variety of pain types, including persistent (chronic) pain, acute pain, neuropathic pain, and bone pain. Prevention and treatment of adverse effects is also covered. Includes helpful Appendices that provide website resources and suggestions for the use of opioid agreements and for incorporating pain documentation into the electronic medical record. Covers patients from young adults to frail older adults. Provides evidence-based, practical guidance on planning and implementing pain management in accordance with current TJC guidelines and best practices. Includes illustrations to clarify concepts and processes such as the mechanisms of action for pain medications. Features spiral binding to facilitate quick reference.
Publication Date: 2010-07-03
Bonica's Management of Pain by Jane C. Ballantyne (Editor); Scott M. Fishman; James P. Rathmell (Editor)Now in its Fourth Edition, with a brand-new editorial team, Bonica's Management of Pain will be the leading textbook and clinical reference in the field of pain medicine. An international group of the foremost experts provides comprehensive, current, clinically oriented coverage of the entire field. The contributors describe contemporary clinical practice and summarize the evidence that guides clinical practice. The first section covers basic considerations, including mechanisms of nociception, functional neuroanatomy and musculoskeletal anatomy, psychological aspects of pain, cultural and environmental aspects of pain, and clinical trials. The second section addresses economic, political, legal, and ethical considerations in pain management. The third section describes current methods for evaluation of the patient with pain. The fourth section provides in-depth coverage of specific painful conditions%neuropathic pain syndromes, psychological contributions to pain, vascular, cutaneous, and musculoskeletal pains, pain due to cancer, acute pain, pain in special populations, visceral pain, regional pain, and low back pain. The fifth section describes the full range of methods for symptomatic control, including pharmacologic therapies, psychological techniques, physical and other noninterventional therapies, implanted electrical stimulators, interventional pain management, and surgical approaches. The book concludes with discussions of the provision of pain treatment in a variety of clinical settings, including pain clinics, spine clinics, the primary care setting, the emergency department, the intensive care unit, and end-of-life care.
Publication Date: 2009-12-24
Rang and Dale's Pharmacology by Humphrey P. Rang; James M. Ritter; Rod J. Flower; Graeme HendersonFor 25 years, Rang and Dale's Pharmacology has delivered the core basic and clinical science information required by students and healthcare practitioners worldwide. Authors H. P. Rang, J. M. Ritter, R. J. Flower, and G. Henderson have ensured that the 8th Edition of this easy-to-read, comprehensive text continues the tradition of excellence with new coverage of drugs affecting the skin and new components online at Student Consult. Get the essential pharmacology information you need from one authoritative source with an outstanding global reputation for excellence. Progress confidently through all relevant aspects of pharmacology, beginning with a molecular understanding of receptors and drug actions through clinical uses of key groups of drugs. Find important content quickly thanks to a color-coded layout that enables easy navigation and cross-referencing. Master difficult concepts with Key Points boxes, Clinical Uses boxes, and full-color illustrations throughout. Stay up to date with new information in the field, including an all-new chapter on drugs that affect the skin. Take advantage of new and unique features online, including 500+ chapter-specific multiple choice questions for immediate self-assessment. eBook version included! For the first time, you can access the entire book online or offline across all devices with the Student Consult eBook! Build your basic and clinical pharmacology knowledge with a comprehensive yet easy-to-use text
LactMedThe LactMed database contains information on drugs and other chemicals to which breastfeeding mothers may be exposed. It includes information on the levels of such substances in breast milk and infant blood, and the possible adverse effects in the nursing infant. Suggested therapeutic alternatives to those drugs are provided, where appropriate. All data are derived from the scientific literature and fully referenced. A peer review panel reviews the data to assure scientific validity and currency.
MicromedexEvidence based information from Micromedex. This includes all the unbiased, referenced information about drugs, toxicology, diseases, acute care, and alternative medicine you need to make informed clinical diagnosis and treatment decisions.
Natural MedicinesCombines the Natural Standard and the Natural Medicines Comprehensive Database resources.
LexicompProvides clear, concise, point-of-care drug information, including dosing, administration, warnings and precautions, as well as clinical content, such as clinical practice guidelines, IV compatibility from Trissel's 2 Clinical Pharmaceutics Database, and other tools.
Mobile access: Accessed through the main Lexicomp Online search page. Users will simply need to click the blue [Mobile Access Codes] button found under the “Additional Services” box to the lower right of the screen. The appropriate subscription code and installation instructions will display in a separate window specific to the users device. If users need any assistance with updating their device, they can contact Technical Support at (866) 397-3433, option 2 or use our support portal at http://www.wolterskluwercdi.com/support/
Getting started with lexicomp online https://explorece.wolterskluwer.com/l/lco-online-hub