Current Therapy of Trauma and Surgical Critical Care by Juan A. Asensio (Editor); Donald D. TrunkeyDemanding surgical situations require expert advice from pioneers in the field as well as from those on the front lines of trauma care. Practical and evidence-based, Current Therapy of Trauma and Surgical Critical Care, 2nd Edition, draws on the experience of Drs. Juan A. Asensio and Donald D. Trunkey to offer a comprehensive, contemporary summary of the treatment and post-operative management of traumatic injuries. The concise format makes it ideally suited for everyday use, and new, full-color illustrations highlight the most important aspects of urgent surgical care, including ventilator management, damage control, noninvasive techniques, imaging, infection control, dealing with mass casualties, and treating injuries induced by chemical and biological agents. Stay informed on a wide variety of key topics - more than in any other existing text on trauma and critical care surgery. Consult this title for a quick overview before you enter the OR or ICU, and use it as a review tool for board certification and recertification. Review the essential principles of diagnosis and treatment, as well as the specifics of surgical therapy - useful for surgeons across all specialties. Review and access the most comprehensive operative approaches and techniques by master trauma surgeons. This textbook, like no other, places a great deal of emphasis on the surgical techniques required to manage the most complex injuries. Its new and updated sections on vascular injuries, as well as its many operative illustrations and figures, provide a comprehensive guide for these techniques. Access practical and up-to-date information on the most important aspects of trauma surgical care, including operative management and surgical critical care strategies and protocols including ventilator management, damage control, noninvasive techniques, imaging, infection control. This textbook provides the latest information to deal with mass casualties and injuries induced by chemical and biological agents, making it a unique reference source. Explore recent developments in imaging technology that have led to many new interventional techniques for the placement of tracheostomy, gastrostomy, and insertion of IVC filters. Stay up to date on new ventilatory techniques, including high-frequency jet ventilation (HFJV) as well as acute release pressure-related ventilation (APRV). Easily visualize complex topics with full-color images and high-quality surgical illustrations throughout the text. Take advantage of evidence-based practice guidelines integrated into the text whenever possible, as well as the comprehensive utilization of the American Association for the Surgery of Trauma - Organ Injury Scales.
Publication Date: 2015
Complications in Surgery and Trauma, Second Edition by Stephen M. Cohn (Editor); Matthew O. Dolich (Editor)Complications in Surgery and Trauma, Second Edition provides practical information on the incidence, management, and avoidance of complications encountered during and after surgical procedures. The book offers detailed guidance and techniques for recognizing and controlling complications in the operating room, emergency ward, or intensive care unit. It spans the vast array of complications related to preoperative, intra-operative, and postoperative events. The coverage is comprehensive and includes many surgical sub-specialties including critical care, endocrine, cardiothoracic, vascular, burns and wound healing, orthopedic, pediatric, and transplant. A key feature of this new edition is the addition of succinct summary tables that list the most common complications related to each area of surgery or trauma and how to avoid them. Nine new chapters are included, and all previous chapters have been updated, making it a completely up-to-date reference for surgical residents, general surgeons, critical care surgeons, and those in training.
Publication Date: 2014
Clinical Anesthesia, 8e: Print + Ebook without Multimedia by Paul G. Barash; Michael K. Cahalan; Bruce F. Cullen; M. Christine Stock; Robert K. Stoelting; Rafael Ortega; Sam R. Sharar; Natalie HoltSelected as a Doody's Core Title for 2022! BMA Medical Book Awards 2018?: Anesthesia - Highly Commended The British Medical Association honored Clinical Anesthesia with this prestigious award. Where experts turn for definitive answers! Clinical Anesthesia covers the full spectrum of clinical issues and options in anesthesiology, providing insightful coverage of pharmacology, physiology, co-existing diseases, and surgical procedures. Unmatched in its clarity and depth of coverage as well as its robust multimedia features, this classic clinical reference brings you the very latest essential knowledge in the field, equipping you to effectively apply today's standards of care and make optimal clinical decisions on behalf of your patients. Key Features Apply the latest know-how with a new chapter on cardiovascular pharmacology...new coverage of autonomic pharmacology...a greatly expanded Clinical Updates section...updated coverage of occupational hazards...and many other important additions. Focus on the most essential information with Key Points in every chapter. Advance your skills with 180 new Narrated Interactive Clinical Vignettes - which immerse you in a virtual classroom setting where a master teacher guides you through a focused discussion on common and uncommon clinical topics. A clinical question is posed, and you are given time to develop an appropriate answer. Then, in a stepwise fashion, you will see and hear the answer unfold. In addition to the Interactive vignettes, the ebook also comes with a collection of over 300 procedural videos to help hone your technique. Your book purchase includes a complimentary download of the enhanced eBook for iOS, Android, PC & Mac. Take advantage of these practical features that will improve your eBook experience: The ability to download the eBook on multiple devices at one time -- providing a seamless reading experience online or offline Powerful search tools and smart navigation cross-links allow you to search within this book, or across your entire library of VitalSource eBooks Multiple viewing options offer the ability to scale images and text to any size without losing page clarity as well as responsive design The ability to highlight text and add notes with one click
Publication Date: 2017-05-19
Drain's PeriAnesthesia Nursing by Jan Odom-ForrenDrain's Perianesthesia Nursing: A Critical Care Approach, 6th Edition is the most comprehensive book on the market specifically tailored to perianesthesia nurses. The book features five distinct sections - the PACU, anatomy and physiology, pharmacology, nursing care, and special considerations. Nursing and pharmacologic interventions are integrated with in-depth coverage of pathophysiology. This edition expands coverage of evidence based research and adds a new chapter on care of the obese patient undergoing bariatric surgery. Written by Jan Odom-Forren, an expert in the anesthesia and post-operative fields, Drain's Perianesthesia Nursing is also an excellent study tool for ASPAN certification. Five separate sections provide coverage including the PACU, anatomy and physiology, pharmacology, nursing care, and special considerations. An overview of essential PACU concepts section covers issues such as patient safety, evidence-based research, and legal/ethical considerations Anatomy and physiology chapters cover physiologic considerations for each body system Pharmacology chapters cover basic principles as well as types of anesthetic agents such as intravenous anesthetics and regional anesthesia, including the physiology of action and the appropriate nursing interventions to prepare you for common situations in the PACU. Nursing care chapters cover assessment, patient education, complications, pain management, and care of specialty-surgery patients. A section on special considerations covers the care of patients of different ages and those with conditions such as malignant hyperthermia, substance abuse, and cardiac arrest. Coverage of current policies and issues affecting perianesthesia nursing practice includes patient safety, infection control, managed care implications, pain management, and bioterrorism. Nursing and pharmacologic interventions are integrated with in-depth coverage of pathophysiology for a comprehensive look at disease and treatment. NEW Evidence Based Research boxes are added to all the chapters in Section IV and Section V. NEW! Care of the Obese Patient Undergoing Bariatric Surgery chapter discusses the challenges that weight-loss surgery presents to the patient and perianesthesia nurse. Streamlined format includes an overview, chapter summary, and references for each chapter. More than 275 illustrations show key concepts and principles of care. Updated The Changing Health Care System and Its Implications for the PACU chapter includes content on healthcare reform. Revised Patient Safety and Legal Issues in the PACU chapter includes content on patient safety. Expanded Evidence-based Practice and Research and Bioterrorism and Its Impact on the PACU chapters include coverage of new developments and practices.
Decker: SurgeryDecker: Surgery has a reputation for providing practicing surgeons and students with comprehensive and up-to-date surgical information. It covers all subspecialties of surgery plus Competency-Based Surgical Care, Care in Special Situations, Scientific Foundations, and Organ Systems with clear and actionable diagnostic and procedural recommendations